Recreation Facility Development Grant

This Program assist community groups, municipalities and other ‘not-for-profit’ organizations to develop facilities in order to increase public participation in sport and physical recreation.

Facilities may include:

  • Recreation centres and halls, pools, arenas, athletic field, parks and playgrounds and trails.
  • Enhanced schools for community use.
  • Other facilities that promote sport and physical recreation.

 

Projects approved for funding are eligible to receive up to one-third of the total capital cost of the project to a maximum of $150,000.

Program guidelines (PDF)

 

The Rink Revitalization Fund (RRF) is a program of Recreation Facility Development and is specifically designed to assist community groups, municipalities and other ‘not-for-profit’ organizations who operate rinks to invest in the revitalization or upgrading of capital infrastructure to support the sustainability of the facility. Projects approved for funding are eligible to receive up to one-third of the total capital cost of the project to a maximum of $150,000. Next deadline of funding is February 2023.

 

2022-23 Rink Revitalization Fund Recipients

 

Cape Breton:

Dominion & District Recreation Complex Society - $39,366.67

Mabou and District Athletic Club - $44,522.92

Sydney Mines and District Community Centre - $30,000

Town of Port Hawkesbury - $49,900

 

Central:

Dartmouth Curling Club - $25,690

Lake District Recreation Association - $20,000

Saint Mary's University - $100,000

The Halifax Curling Club - $20,300

 

Fundy:

Central Nova Scotia Civic Centre Society - $122,000

North Shore Recreation Centre - $62,769.25

West Colchester Recreation Association - $100,000

 

Highland:

Antigonish Arena Commission - $68,400

Canso Curling Club - $13,691.25

District 13 Recreation and Planning Commission - $120,000

Hector Arena Commission - $9,000

Stellar Curling Club - $15,180

Town of Trenton - $11,691

Westville & Area Recreation and Planning Commission - $38,333.33

 

South Shore:

Liverpool Curling Club - $30,000

Shelburne Curling Club - $10,000

Town of Lunenburg - $40,000

 

Valley:

Berwick and District Community Association - $16,000

Glooscap Curling Club of Kentville, Nova Scotia - $13,000

Western Kings Rink Association - $16,000

Wolfville Curling Club Society (1994) - $14,000

 

For more information Contact the representative in your region:

Cape Breton Region

850 Grand Lake Road, Suite 15, Sydney, NS B1P 5T9
902-578-4813
Regional Manager Larry.Maxwell@novascotia.ca
Regional Program Coordinator Natalie.MacPherson@novascotia.ca

Central Region

Halifax Regional Municipality
1741 Brunswick Street, PO Box 456, Halifax, NS B3J 2R5
902-456-5908
Regional Manager Andrea.Redmond@novascotia.ca
Regional Program Coordinator Deborah.Fram@novascotia.ca

Fundy Region

Cumberland, Colchester & Municipality of East Hants
80 Walker Street, Suite 1, Truro, NS B2N 4A7
902-324-8392
Regional Manager Natasha.Gray@novascotia.ca
Regional Program Coordinator Teresa.McNutt@novascotia.ca

Highland Region

Guysborough, Antigonish & Pictou
149 Church Street, Suite 4, Antigonish, NS B2G 2E2
902-338-0659
Consultant Eric.Lumsden@novascotia.ca
Regional Program Coordinator Chantel.Mahar@novascotia.ca

South Shore Region

Yarmouth, Shelburne, Queens, Lunenburg & District of Argyle
312 Green Street, PO Box 9000, Lunenburg, NS B0J 2C0
902-930-2872
Regional Manager Anna.Haanstra@novascotia.ca
Regional Program Coordinator Denise.Scott@novascotia.ca

Valley Region

Annapolis, Kings, Digby & Municipalities of West Hants and Clare
10 Webster Street, Suite 200, Kentville, NS B4N 1H7
902-698-9407
Acting, Regional Manager Anna.Sherwood@novascotia.ca
Regional Program Coordinator Tracy.Roberts@novacotia.ca